top of page

Twenty-Something Woes: Job-Hunting as a Graduate

Last September I finished my MA in African Studies in London. Between now and then I frightfully fought the woes and enjoyed the highs of adult job-hunting. As twenty-something humanities graduates there is no paved path for us, and it can be even scarier to navigate these waters in a new city. Having come out the other side as a Senior Library Assistant at the University of Cambridge’s African Studies Library, and with a new career path I’m very proud of, I can reflect on this retrospectively short period with more happiness than melancholy. From intellectuality, to ice rinks, to interviews, here’s how it turned out for me.

Presenting my thesis at the 2022 SOAS Baraza on Swahili

In the fall I was invited to present my thesis research with two other Congolese-based researchers at the international Baraza Swahili conference, capping off the exciting and thought-provoking year I spent at SOAS. I also earned a distinction on my paper and an overall 1st-class degree. Pleased with my achievements, I mostly mooched for the month of October, starting to apply for jobs but not putting too much effort in. Having secured my first post-undergrad full time gig at Race Roster in 2019 quickly after returning from Tanzania, I wasn’t too stressed that the right job would come along in a timely manner.


The stark realisation that I could no longer ride the coattails of Canadian connections forced the financial anxiety of being jobless to set in. A fallback was in place, though (thank you past Ben). Having been rejected after a few promising interviews, I scored work at a seasonal ice rink from November to January at Westfield Shopping Centre in West London. Getting paid to skate around most of my shifts was special and I didn’t take any of that time for granted. Being trusted to manage the rink here and there also proved a new challenge I hadn’t expected to attack and enjoy. Apparently freestyle skating usurps ice hockey in the UK. Oh, and I learned how to drive the Zamboni (young Ben’s hockey-player dreams came true)!



Ultimately this stint was exactly what I needed – a break from job-hunting in a role that had nothing to do with my career goals or what I studied. It breathed new life into my job search which seriously resumed in January. The (often wet and cold) time I spent at the rink let me soak up where I faltered in my previous applications, giving me more intention with what and how I applied in the new year.


To put it plainly though, January was a bleak month for me. Coming off some exhaustion working at the rink (12 hour shifts) and being away from Canada at Christmas for the first time, combined with unsuccessful or unanswered job applications got me down again. February was much more promising. While continuing to apply, I slowly eased into a routine of being unemployed, trying to remember to enjoy the work-free time I had while it lasted.


The first interview I felt I nailed was for a community engagement role with a company called Thames21 who focus on sustainable water practices and connecting people to their local waterways. When they told me I was unsuccessful I was upset but had learned my lesson not to take it personally, especially since in this case the person who got the job was just more qualified than me, not that they didn’t think I could do it. Unlucky.


While waiting for the above decision to be made, I interviewed at the Home Office to be an asylum seeker decision maker (a fun game- and scenario-based assessment), which I ended up getting an offer for, as well as the University of Cambridge.


Almost everything felt right with Cambridge – my biggest negotiation was the commute (about 2.5 hours each way from London). Coming to a flexible work compromise with my now manager encouraged me greatly to accept, and now here I am! With a prolonged period between accepting (February end) and starting (beginning of April) I finally got to enjoy non-working life without the encroaching stressful burden of finding a job. The anticipation to begin was unmatched by any previous job offer I've had.


As a central presence for the university's Masters of Philosophy in African Studies students, the library also plays an important role in liaising with community partners to put action behind the buzzword of 'decolonisation'. I'll be assisting students day-to-day with research enquiries, but will also be learning about the largely uncatalogued archive that my new manager will spend more time with, and partnering with the community to engage them with our materials.


My advice to anyone who is still studying would be to look for work before you graduate. It will no doubt save you a lot of stress and headache. For those that decided to go a similar route to me, don’t worry. I know it’s cliché, but as so many people told me, the right job will come along for you. Have faith in the process, and don’t forget to rest and enjoy the freedom of not having too much responsibility before embarking on what could be a long period of work or a career.


Your time will come.




71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page